top of page

How I met a kind soul and learned to fold paper cranes

During my trip to Japan I also visited Hiroshima. In the early hours I jumped on a train from Osaka. After arriving to Hiroshima I went to find the nearest map. Suddenly an older japanese guy approached me and asked me where I was going. He then opened his bag took a notebook, tore out a paper and started writing directions and how much will it cost me to get to the Hiroshima bomb memorial. On the other side he wrote me the most unexpected and beautiful message.

I was pleasantly surprised.

Nowadays we always hurry somewhere but this man stopped and took his time to help a complete stranger. After thanking him and saying goodbye, I continued to the Hiroshima bomb memorial. At the site there is a memorial in memory of a girl who died because of cancer, that she got from radiaton. There is a saying: if you fold 1000 of paper cranes then your wish will come true. So this girl folded cranes and wished to be healthy again, but she sadly died. Although she died before she could fold all 1000, her friends folded rest of the cranes for her and burried them with her. Today people still make cranes most of them wanting world peace.

I also wanted to contribute and fold a crane but I did not know how to. While I was trying to google how to fold a crane on a near by bench, a woman came to me and said: »I can show you«. So she sat beside me and showed me how to fold a crane. After we folded, she gave me hers (which I still have in my wallet) and I left mine next to other cranes in Hiroshima.

bottom of page